Things From Childhood That Would Still Be Awesome And Useful Today.

Childhood-EdNacional-Submitted-2013_1220

You go through a hell of a lot of transformations as an adult.  I used to stay up late having a wild night with friends, and could easily breeze into work the next morning at 8 AM to stock dairy on the shelves at my local Marc’s, feeling like a champ and never missing a beat.  Now I share a six-pack while watching The Walking Dead on a Sunday evening, and wake up regretting my decisions and clutching for the Tylenol.  Certain hip-hop or ska music I once loved comes onto my Pandora radio, and rather than invoke happy feelings and joy, I’m just kind of annoyed, and change to some easy listening Sam Cooke radio or some shit.  I’m 32, and although I still look young and feel young most of time, things change, and that’s okay.

But there’s certain things that I do miss.  And I see a lot of practical application with certain ideas and devices from my youth.  Growing up and getting older doesn’t mean you have to stop having fun, and some ideas completely deserve a re-appearance in our adult lives.  In today’s article, we will talk about a lot of things from childhood, that would still be a great idea today.  Enjoy.

 

Walkie Talkies.

walkie

I know what you’re going to say.  “What’s the point?  We all have cell phones these days”.  And you would be correct.  But let me give you an example.  My girlfriend has an AT&T phone, and when she arrived at my house recently, the network was down, and she couldn’t call me to let her in, so she froze her ass off on my porch for ten minutes, until she was able to find a random network to get me a text message.  Cell phones have issues, like anything else.  No signal, dead battery, shitty network.  Hell, I can’t make a call for the life of me anytime I’m in the Ravenna Giant Eagle.  The simple solution?  Walkie talkies.  If her and I both had walkie talkies, she could have gotten her’s out of her purse, pressed the call button, and been like “I’m here butthead, come let me in”, and I could have been like “Roger that, over and out!”.  Plus, come on, walkie talkies are just kind of awesome.  Let’s bring them back.

 

Recess.

28recess_lede_600

I sit at a desk all day.  I’m not complaining, sometimes I grow kind of restless.  My legs fall asleep, even worse my ass falls asleep, and the only reason I ever have to get up is to go to the bathroom, check on the production of a computer in the back of the building, or to make copies.  I also get an hour lunch, which is generally split between standing in my break room warming up the previous night’s taco feast, or sitting in my car, listening to sports talk on my radio.  A recess would be a much better use of this time.  I’ve daydreamed of having a basketball hoop in the parking lot, to play a quick game of h-o-r-s-e , “around the world”, or even just a sweet game of kick-ball.  It only takes me about 10-15 minutes to eat, and the rest of the time I find myself kind of pacing around.  A recess would be an amazing answer.  Not only would it help us all feel revitalized and refreshed, you can’t deny it would be an excellent bonding experience with your co-workers.  Some companies take weekend retreats, some schedule company-sponsored activities, but you could accomplish all of this with a little optional recreation time.  How is this not a thing?

 

Naps.

13-wells7

As a child, you take naps.  As an old person, you take naps.  But for the vast time between birth and death, naps aren’t really a thing.  Why?  I was watching golf one Sunday afternoon, and kind of dozed off.  When I woke up, I felt amazing.  Looking back, it was one of the most glorious days ever.  Some progressive companies do offer nap rooms, and I think it’s a great idea.  My company most likely frowns upon naps, and if I took one at my desk, I’m pretty sure I’d be fired.  But we all live such busy lives.  After a week of work, I usually feel like collapsing on a Friday evening, and I don’t even have kids.  So I can only imagine if I did.  Naps would be a great opportunity to catch up on a little zzzs, recharge, and to tackle the rest of the day.  Again, how is this not a thing?

 

Sleepovers.

boys-sleepover-2

Perhaps the greatest thing you had to look forward to on the weekend as a kid was a sleepover.  Hanging out all night with your buds, playing video games, watching scary movies, eating pizza, and just falling asleep.  As an adult, other than just being busy, the main reason I sometimes blow off hanging out with my friends, is because I just get tired.  After I get home from work, I just want to slip into bed, put on some pajamas, and watch some fucking Netflix.  And fall asleep.  If sleepovers were still a thing, it would probably happen more.  My cousin Donny and I share an apartment, and essentially we have a sleepover every Friday.  We hang out in my room, playing Madden and drinking beers, and we usually cap off the evening with a little Netflix, and guess what?  I usually fall asleep.  And it’s all good.  He gets up off the floor, and goes into his room and falls asleep as well.  So we get to hang out, and I don’t feel any regret for just being tired.  Guys get tired, and sometimes you just want to be comfortable, and not worry about having to drive home late at night.  Sleepovers would bring a lot of people together.

 

Conclusion.

I’m sure there are a lot of other things from childhood that I miss, that I would wholeheartedly welcome back.  Parachute day in gym class.  SNICK.  Pizza Hut Book-It! certificates.  Summer vacations.  Fiesta sticks.  But we’re older, and those days are behind us.  But that doesn’t mean that they still can’t be fun.  What do you miss most from your childhood?  Do you agree that naps are awesome?  Can we get walkie talkies?  Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

